Fall 2022
Math 233
Syllabus

Section Day/Time Room Location Instructor
1 MWF 9-10 Prof Jay Yang
2 MWF 10-11 Prof Blake Thornton
3 MWF 12-1 Prof Blake Thornton
4 MWF 1-2 Prof Jay Yang
5 MWF 2-3 Prof Jay Yang
Instructors:
Prof Blake Thornton
Office: Cupples 1, Room 108A
Email: bthornton@wustl.edu
Office Hours: See Google Course Calendar
Prof Jay Yang
Office: Cupples 1, Room 203
Email: jayy@wustl.edu
Office Hours: See Google Course Calendar
Google Calendar of Math 233 Office Hours
Math Help Room Schedule

Assistants to Instructors
NameEmailSections
Acuna, RJ rjacuna@wustl.edu F, M, P
Black, Alan a.j.black@wustl.edu G, Q
Boshara, Eli eboshara@wustl.edu B, D, I
Colovic, Ana a.colovic@wustl.edu K, N, S
McClure, Ariadne a.mcclure@wustl.edu T, U
Mellovitz, Brian b.mellovitz@wustl.edu L, O, W
Sabando Alvarez, Cristina c.sabandoalvarez@wustl.edu A, C, V
Solorio, Dillon dillons@wustl.edu E, J
Zhuang, Hao hzhuang@wustl.edu H, R, X

Lecture:
Lecture is MWF every week. You must attend this.

Communication: We will make announcements in canvas announcements. If you have questions about the material, please visit office hours or post in Piazza (linked in canvas). If you have administrative questions, please email and copy in all instructors (Prof Thornton, Prof Yang).

Help and Assistant Office Hours: Mathematics Help Room.
You are encouraged to attend at any open time--all available assistants should be able to help you with our course.

Text 1: Workbook and Lecture Notes. Strongly Recommended.
Calculus 3 Lecture Workbook
You will almost certainly want a physical copy of this to work through as it contains the problems that we will work through in lecture. Solutions/answers will be posted in the schedule above as we work through the book.
Feedback from students: Most, but not all previous students generally reported this text as being useful. Many students reported that every student should be required to have a physical copy of this workbook.
Old Editions Will Not Work: You will want the current edition of this---everything has been completely reworked and an old edition won't work.
Buy Workbook at the Wash U Bookstore: It looks like the link above will sell you a copy, but I have been told that all the print copies have been sent to the Wash U Bookstore, so buy it there!

Text 2: Calculus Textbooks. NOT Recommended for most students:
In the past I have recommended traditional textbooks. I still like these books, but I have found that most students do not find these useful and more of a waste of money. That said, here are two recommendations:

Are you in the right class? We want you to succeed, without repeating a large amount of material.
Math 131 Calculus 1: Limits, Derivatives, maxima and minima, L'Hopital's Rule
Math 132 Calculus 2: Integration, area, volumes, surface area, infinite series, Taylor series
Math 233 Calculus 3: Three space, partial derivatives, multiple integration, Green's theorem and vector calculus

Google Course Calendar:
You can find a calendar on the course including instructor office hours below.

Discussion Sections
You will meet with your Assistant to Instructor (AI) every Tuesday (starting with the first Tuesday of classes). In these meetings, you will learn new material and topics as well as work on problem solving. Come to these meetings prepared by doing your homework. You will have group work to do that will be graded and part of your grade.

Where to go for Help:

Peer Led Team Learning (PLTL)
The PLTL program is voluntary but highly recommended. If you want to participate, you must sign up the first week of class by completing an application.
Learning Center: PLTL Page

Residental Peer Mentors (RPMs)
Residential Peer Mentors (RPMs) offer drop-in help hours on the South 40 to provide support for Calculus students. Unlike PLTL, RPM hours are unstructured, so you can use them for just about anything: if you have a quick question about WebWork, if you want to review concepts or work on problems with classmates, or if you are just looking for a regular time and place to work on Calc. RPMs also can help with study strategies and provide advice on how to succeed both in Calc and at WashU. Schedules and links are posted at the Learning Center's mentoring calendar. The RPMs will also post announcements weekly with any updates or cancellations.
While sessions are typically held in residential colleges on the South 40, there will also be some sessions held remotely via Zoom this semester. There are currently four Calc III RPMs who will hold sessions spread throughout the week, and you are welcome to attend ANY RPM's hours, not just the ones held in your residential college!

Calculators:
While you are free to use any calculator for your homework, you will not be allowed to use a calculator for exams:
NO CALCULATOR ALLOWED FOR EXAMS

Canvas
You can find your grades, access WeBWorK and more at Canvas. All the sections are merged into section 1, so log on to Math 233, section 1.

WeBWorK
Webwork is due every Thursday evening.
To log in, go to Canvas and click on "Assignments."
You will do weekly homework online. You are responsible for making sure this is done by the due date.
Important! There may be more than one set due each week!
Collaboration: Feel free to work together but remember, you have to be able to perform by yourself on exams!
Webwork Due Date Logistics: Whatever is covered by Wednesday of lecture of "fair game" for webwork due on Thursday. We may postpone sets that appear due that week based on what happens in lecture that week.

Exams:
Exam Schedule
Exam Schedule
Exam 1 Tues Sept 20, 6:30-8:30PM
Exam 2 Tues Oct 18, 6:30-8:30PM
Exam 3 Tues Nov 15, 6:30-8:30PM
Final Thurs Dec 15, 3:30-5:30PM

Final Exam
The final exam will be as scheduled.

Study Suggestions - What to do daily and weekly

Grades: Your final grades will be computed according to the following formula and grading scale.
		    Grade = 0.75*( E1 + E2 + E3 + 2*E4 - min(E1, E2, E3, E4))/4 + 0.15*(WeBWork) + 0.10*(GroupWork)
		  
Basically this means that all exams are weighted equally and worth 75% of your grade. The final exam can replace your lowest semester exam. Webwork is worth 15% of your final grade, discussion sections are worth 10%.

We will drop the lowest three discussion section grades, the lowest five webworks.

A note on webwork grades: There may be multiple webwork assignments due every week. In computing your grade, we will scale these so they are all equally weighted and use these scaled scores for computations.

A note on rounding: For example, the A- interval is [90,93). This means that anything in this interval is an A- (i.e., no rounding).

A+ TBA
A [93,infinity)
A- [90,93)
B+ [85,90)
B [80,85)
B- [75,80)
C+ [72,75)
C [68,72)
C- [65,68)
D [55,65)
F [0,55)

Pass/Fail Policy: You must get at least a C- to earn a "Pass".

Class Recordings:
We will be doing our best to record, through zoom, exactly one lecture every day of lecture. Students will not be admitted into class via zoom but can view the recording after the lecture when we post it in canvas.
I am certain that the value you get from attending class will be much greater than watching any videos.

Other Wash U Policies and Resources:
Covid, Sexual Assault/Harassment, Disability Resources, Military Service, Preferred Name and Pronouns, Emergencies, Academic Integrity, Student Resources, Religious Holidays and more can be found at:
               Provost's Syllabus Policies

Links and Resources


Tentative Schedue:
The schedule is tentative and will be updated regularly.
We will do our best to follow this schedule but don't be surprised if topics are shifted from one week to another as the semester progresses.

Week Dates Sections Covered Notes
1 Mon Aug 29 1.1: R3 and Basic Graphs
Tues Aug 30 Discussion Sections
Wed Aug 31 1.2: Functions, Limits, Continuity
Fri Sept 2 1.3 Graphing and Slices
2 Mon Sept 5 No Class: Labor Day
Tues Sept 6 Discussion Sections
Wed Sept 7 1.4 Vectors and Lines
Fri Sept 9 1.5 Dot Products, Angles and Projections
3 Mon Sept 12 1.6 Determinants and Cross Product
Tues Sept 13 Discussion Sections
Wed Sept 14 1.7 Planes
Fri Sept 16 2.1 Parametric Curves
4 Mon Sept 19 Exam Review
Tues Sept 20 Discussion Sections
Exam 1
Sections Covered: 1.1-1.7
Wed Sept 21 2.2 Calculus of Curves
Fri Sept 23 2.3 Coordinates: Polar, Cylindrical, Spherical
5 Mon Sept 26
Tues Sept 27 Discussion Sections
Wed Sept 28 2.4 Parametric Surfaces
Fri Sept 30 3.1 The Derivative
3.2 Tangent Planes and Approximations
6 Mon Oct 3 3.3 Chain Rule
Tues Oct 4 Discussion Sections
Wed Oct 5 3.4 Directional Derivatives
3.5 Local Extrema
Fri Oct 7 3.6 Global Extrema
7 Mon Oct 10 No Class: Fall Break
Tues Oct 11 No Discussions: Fall Break
Wed Oct 12 3.7 Lagrange Multipliers
Fri Oct 14 4.1 Double and Triple Integrals over Rectanglar Regions
8 Mon Oct 17 Exam Review
Tues Oct 18 Discussion Sections
Exam 2
Sections Covered: 2.1 - (What is covered Fri Oct 14)
Wed Oct 19 4.2 Double Integrals over General Regions
4.3 Triple Integrals over General Regions
Fri Oct 21 4.4 Change of Variables
9 Mon Oct 24 4.5 Polar Coordinates
Tues Oct 25 Discussion Sections
Wed Oct 26 4.6 Cylindrical Coordinates
Fri Oct 28 4.7 Spherical Coordinates
10 Mon Oct 31 4.8 Surface Area and Surface Integrals
Tues Nov 1 Discussion Sections
Wed Nov 2
Fri Nov 4
11 Mon Nov 7 5.1 Vector Fields
Tues Nov 8 Discussion Sections
Wed Nov 9 5.2 Vector Line Integrals and Work
Fri Nov 11 5.3 Fundamental Theorem and Independence of Path
12 Mon Nov 14 Exam Review
Tues Nov 15 Discussion Sections
Exam 3
Sections Covered: TBA
Wed Nov 16
Fri Nov 18 5.4 Surface Integrals of a Vector Field, Flux Integrals
13 Mon Nov 21
Tues Nov 22 Discussion Sections
Wed Nov 23 Thanksgiving Break: NO Class
Fri Nov 25 Thanksgiving Break: NO Class
14 Mon Nov 28 5.5 Stokes' Theorem
Tues Nov 29 Discussion Sections
Wed Nov 30
Fri Dec 2 5.6 Green's Theorem: Stokes' Theorem for the Plane
15 Mon Dec 5 5.7 Divergence Theorem
Tues Dec 6 Discussion Sections
Wed Dec 7
Fri Dec 9 Exam Review Last Day
15 Dec 15
3:30-5:30PM
Final Exam
Sections Covered: TBA